Home » Documents » Education » 10 – HSC CM2: Human Growth and Development

10 – HSC CM2: Human Growth and Development

Access: Premium
File Size: 132.9 KB

1.1 Identify the life stages of human development.

Change and progression are hallmarks of human development, which occurs between infancy and old age. These are the phases at which people typically progress through the various stages of human life:

These are the phases at which people typically progress through the various stages of human life:

Infancy: This period, which spans birth to two years of age, is the first important one in human development. During this time, a baby undergoes a dramatic transformation as it learns to control its body.

During this developmental period, infants develop confidence in others by relying on them to fulfil most of their needs. The physical and mental maturation of infants is dependent on their being kept safe.

Childhood: A child’s formative years, from the ages of three to ten, are marked by a yearning for independence and the pursuit of new experiences. Kids develop the ability to think critically and become aware of the results of their choices. A child needs guidance as they learn about their new skill and develop self-assurance in their choice.

Adolescence: The next stage of growth, adolescence, occurs between the ages of 11 and 17, and is characterised by a continuation of the process. At this age, kids start to become more independent and confident.

During this time in their lives, young men and women are preoccupied with establishing their individuality and sharing it with the world. Puberty brings about physical changes that teenagers must learn to live with.

Early Adulthood: In adulthood, one faces greater responsibilities and must make more weighty choices about one’s professional life, academic pursuits, and personal life. There is also noticeable development on an emotional level.

During this time of profound psychological change, where the peak of physical development has been achieved, young adults make important life decisions like what they want to do for a living, where they want to settle down, and whom they want to spend their time with.

Middle adulthood: In the middle of adulthood, people typically start to deal with the physical effects of ageing, like wrinkles and grey hair. Your body has reached its physical peak and is now beginning its inevitable decline.

Late adulthood: By this point in life, adults have reached the final phase of their lifespan. They ruminate over their past experiences. Those who have achieved a sense of fulfilment in their lives, either through a happy family or a noteworthy career, are better capable of accepting the inevitability of everything that comes with ageing. On the flip side, those who can’t achieve much may feel disappointment.

Other answers in the full document:

  • 1.2. Describe social, emotional, cognitive and physical developments within each life stage.
  • 2.1. Describe theories of human growth and development.
  • 3.1. Explain significant life events that can occur within each stage of human development.
  • 3.2. Analyse the impact that significant life events have on individuals.

Related Documents