Home » Documents » Education » 3 – HSC CM9: Reflective Practice

3 – HSC CM9: Reflective Practice

Access: Premium
File Size: 243.94 KB

1.1 Identify standards relating to professional development in health and social care.

Professional and individual development is a crucial component of every career. This is also somewhat unique to the health and social care sectors, where it is crucial for employees to stay up with the latest developments and trends to manage outbreaks, new medications, and other clinical equipment properly, as well as to strengthen their relationships with patients. They will become well-versed in modern hygienic practices as a result, and their relationships with coworkers, both inside and outside of their departments and organisation, will improve. Since the world is really a global village, health and social care professionals need to be adaptable to what is happening both locally and abroad.

Professional bodies are established to set standards, regulate, monitor, and encourage individuals to upgrade to the global best practice in order to offer the best standard available to their members. This is advantageous for health and social care organisations because it promotes the provision of the highest quality services and elevates the standard of care provided to patients. It increases the competence and self-assurance of professionals since they tend to continue learning even after leaving higher education institutions, which decreases redundant work and career stagnation. It also makes work more enjoyable because new skills are acquired.

In England, nurses and midwives fall under the Nursing Midwifery Council, which is in charge of regulating their professional credentials and establishing codes of conduct as well as sanctions for professionals who violate these codes. They are tasked with registering and revalidating nurses and midwives every three years after they have been found to have satisfied all requirements, which include: 450 practice hours within the year in review; 35 hours of continuing professional development, which should include 20 hours of participating learning; character and health declarations; 5 written reflective accounts; evidence of reflective discussion; and proof of professional indemnity insurance.

The Care Quality Commission oversees the regulation of the health and social care system. This organisation is the impartial body in charge of the safety requirements and the calibre of services rendered by institutions. The body’s primary responsibility is to monitor compliance with the standards, not to regulate individuals unless a member of the staff is found to be acting inappropriately while the valuation is being conducted, in which case the commission will refer that individual to their professional regulatory body.

According to the legislation (Care Act 2014), health and social care workers must advance their knowledge and abilities, be prepared for certain tasks, and complete additional training by attending conferences, reading in-depth about issues, and enrolling in courses that are relevant to their roles.

Other answers in the full document:

  • 1.2. Explain ‘continuing professional development’.
  • 2.1. Discuss theoretical perspectives on reflection in relation to professional development.
  • 2.2. Explain how reflective practice supports the professional development of the health and social care practitioner
  • 2.3. Analyse how reflective practice supports positive outcomes for:
    – Individuals/Parents / Carers
    – Staff Team
    – Other Professionals.
  • 3.1. Analyse how the health and social care practitioner’s own values, beliefs and experiences can influence delivery of care.
  • 4.1. Identify:
    – Sources of support for learning and development
    – Professional development opportunities.
  • 4.2. Discuss methods for identifying and planning for professional development needs.
  • 5.1. Reflect upon own learning using a model of reflection.
  • 5.2. Use outcomes from reflection to assess and plan for own development.

Related Documents